UTOPIAN IN RESIDENCE – PAZZ – REALITY RESEARCH CENTER BLOG

WALKING / BIKING THE CITY

The city of Oldenburg – as well as many other cities – is made out of two things: walking together and sitting around a fire.

Long ago when there was no spoken language nor words we met each other in places that would today be called Coffee Houses, Bierstuben or Wine Bars. In those days we shared our stories communicating through sounds and bodily sensations, by gestures and movements, with clothes and accessories.

Long ago when there was no spoken language people were able to sense the different realities, the changing atmospheres, echoes and colors, lights and shadows.

When we remember how the city is made out of walking, we realize that we still have those abilities of communication. Then we turn back to the fireplaces sharing our stories about the grass amidst the pavement, about the faces in the concrete wall, about people coming alive in the eyes of each other.

And as a manifest of a utopic change the city of Oldenburg is also made by biking together. In many other places such biking is still a pure utopia. That is why utopic thinking itself is a paradoxical impossibility: a realized utopia is just a part of our daily lives.

Risto

Leave A Comment

PAZZ Festival 2012 - Logo

UTOPIAN IN RESIDENCE – PAZZ – REALITY RESEARCH CENTER BLOG

DIE STADT ERLAUFEN / ERFAHREN

Oldenburg ist – wie viele andere Städte auch – aus zwei Dingen gemacht: gemeinsam gehen und am Feuer sitzen.

Vor langer Zeit, als es weder Sprache noch Wörter gab, trafen wir uns an Orten, die man heute Kaffeehäuser, Bierkneipen oder Weinstuben nennen würde. Damals teilten wir unsere Geschichten mit, indem wir mit Tönen und Berührungen, Gesten und Bewegungen, Kleidung und Accessoires kommunizierten.

Vor langer Zeit, als es noch keine Sprache gab, waren die Menschen in der Lage, verschiedene Realitäten, sich ändernde Stimmungen, Echos und Farben, Licht und Schatten wahrzunehmen.

Wenn wir uns erinnern, wie die Stadt durch Gehen gemacht wird, erkennen wir diese immer noch vorhandenen Fähigkeiten der Kommunikation. Dann wenden wir uns zurück an die Feuerstellen und erzählen uns die Geschichten über das Gras mitten auf dem Gehweg, über die Gesichter in der Betonmauer, über Menschen, die durch den Blick des anderen lebendig werden.

Und als Manifest für utopischen Wandel ist Oldenburg zudem aus gemeinsam Radfahren gemacht. An vielen anderen Orten ist so ein Radfahren immer noch reine Utopie. Deshalb ist utopisches Denken eine paradoxe Unmöglichkeit: Eine realisierte Utopie wird einfach Teil unseres täglichen Lebens.

Risto

Übersetzung: Katja von der Ropp

Leave A Comment

PAZZ Festival 2012 - Logo