Pazz Out – Bands

analogik_presse-gross

Analogik (Aarhus/Denmark)

Danish Pirates with swinging beards: Twitchy legs – catchy tunes – guttural bass Things have gotten a little mixed up. Throbbing beats with playful synth fanfares, swinging jazz guitars with intricate Balkan rhythms. Analogik is a mixed-up bunch of Danish guys who play music for every part of the body: catchy tunes for your ears, [...]

pussywarmers

The Pussywarmers (Lugano/Tessin)

Love, death und the devil: Dorian Gray dances to the funeral march by Tom Waits Five lads from Tessin plunge the depths of drums, double bass, megaphone, guitar, banjo, accordion, glockenspiel and brass that open up between dimly-lit cabaret and acoustic punk, eccentric Klezmer and swaying funeral march music. And they’re always circling the same [...]

Meandthe devil

Me And The Devil (Oldenburg)

Jazzy Indie guitars and many monsters between the lines Brand new and hot, this is Oldenburg’s first so-called “super group”. Lars Kaempf, Arne Meyer, Dirk Brumund-Rüther and Hauke Krone have earned their stripes elsewhere – now they’ve taken the lead from behind with their jazz-indie rock band Me and the Devil. They’re all young colts [...]

HAKK1

HAKK (Steinsoultz, Paris)

The eclectic minimal popsmith from the Alsace HAKK don’t need much to conjure up their finely interwoven, minimalistic songs. A few agile, acoustic twangs, a little elegantly understated electronic rustling, a joyful piano, a laid-back bass, here an aaahhh, and there an ooohhh. Over the top, the Alsace-based Eckhard Harms-Leroux croons sensual texts in English, [...]

les-fils-de-teuhpu

Les Fils de Teuhpu (Paris)

When the sound of spades and giant shells flirts with Balkan tunes The Sons of Teuphu are a real phenomenon. In the last 15 years, they’ve played more than a thousand concerts in in France – and yet they’re still too rarely onstage. Using some homemade instruments, they charmingly flirt with ska, jazz, polka and [...]

CHAT_ELECTRIQUE_2

LE CHAT ÉLECTRIQUE (HAMBURG, OLDENBURG, MANNHEIM)

26.04. 21h Live playalong to short films – Headphone-Concert – The musicians of the band Le Chat Électrique (Hamburg, Oldenburg, Mannheim) are introducing their newest work on PAZZ OUT, they produced new soundtracks for short-film classics. With the help of field recordings, analog synthesizers and samplings they play theirs scores live via headphones. The short-film [...]

De-fofftig-Penns_01_Foto-Lars-Kaempf

De fofftig Penns (Hamburg, Berlin)

Dree-Mann-Shantychor – elegant rhymes in North German dialect to a striking, bleeping electro hip hop Who thinks Grandma’s dialect is cool? This trio do! Riemelmeester Malde, Kommodige Jaykopp, and Plietsche Torbän (musicians with such great names deserve a hug) have been putting music through the shredder for some years now– and what comes out is [...]

NikiNeun2

NikiNeun (Oldenburg)

Rock bombshells: NikiNeun unite with divinely distorted guitars When indie rock is so messy and bizarre, then it sounds good. The Oldenburg band NikiNeun has been around for four year with lyrics first in English, now in German. They always had divinely distorted guitars, but recently, a synth can be heard here and there. NikiNeun [...]

Amigo1

Amigo del Sol (Oldenburg)

The endless summer that swings, rocks, thuds and quakes These Oldenburg boys sped their lives on stage. The frontman shaking his thing is Falko Burkert – and he wasn’t even born when this music first came booming out of mono radios. His double bass hits you right in the entrails, a thumb-twanking guitar conjures up [...]

Abi_wallenstein

Abi Wallenstein & Blues Culture (Hamburg)

Batschkapp Blues – earth, mud and the flowing waters of the Elbe You have to rub your eyes and ears: a melodic harmonica sound, brazenly strummed guitar strings and a voice that seemed to be layered with nicotine and Southern Comfort – how laid-back is that! New Orleans? No, Hamburg. Abi Wallenstein, Steve Baker and [...]

Hierundjetzt5mittelgroß

Hier & Jetzt (Hamburg)

Sparks fly off drums and catchy tunes foot the bill Pow! Wham! Zing! Dominik Bornhorn plucks like a dervish on his bassguitar string as thick as his thumb. Ina Bredehorn does the same to her vocal chords. Brass flashes, bedding down with warm organ sounds and bass drums. Hier und Jetzt makes the sparks fly [...]

simon_und_jan_m_grande1

Simon & Jan (Oldenburg)

The heady world of consumer goods dismembered by two barstools and two guitars Jan Traphan and Simon Eickhoff from Oldenburg would belt out their songs from any old stage – as long as it had two barstools and a microphone. To the sound of their acoustic guitars and with mischievous grins on their faces, they [...]

VolxTanz_Photo

Volxtanz (Stuttgart)

Vodka, then sport: two handfuls of musicians with percussion and wind instruments During the recent Stuttgart 21 Demo, the stage quickly proved to be too small: two handfuls of musicians with percussion and wind instruments jostled for space among vodka-soaked Balkan beats, nosebleed-polka and Klezmer-like ska. When Volxtanz take the stage, there’s no holding back. [...]

Alyuvar2

Alyuvar (Mannheim)

Red like blood – in search of a land of milk and honey, and freedom From the melting pot of Mannheim, six young musicians set off across the globe and get the world to dance. In their search for a land of milk and honey, and freedom, they take with them all the things that [...]

Fnessnej1

Fnessnej (Darmstadt)

Instrumental-rock-n-roll-electro-jiggle: eight legs, four heads, old computers, 30 instruments and 250 metres of cable Fnessnej (so they claim) are a rhythmic-melodic synthesis made of eight legs, four heads, about ten percussion instruments, five string instruments, old computers, 357 keys on 12 keyboards and about 250 metres of cable. And they’re really loud. Fnessnej (we claim) [...]

lestrucs1

Les Trucs (Frankfurt a.M.)

Opera of Noise: totally hyper electro-punk Madness! In the middle of the audience Tobias and Charlotte stand face to face on their trestle table, banging down on innocent machines whose countless switches, keys and buttons flash as they wrench totally hyper electro-punk from their insides. Think Kraftwerk with dirty hair. Or Motörhead on a synth. [...]

robotkoch

DJ Robot Koch (Berlin)

Robots don’t sleep – they spin discs and hard drives Berlin music producer and DJ Robot Koch gets his discs spinning in Oldenburg. Subsonic basses sweep the dance floor, deep enough to make your trousers throb. Destiny’s Child and Lou Ragland are steeped in the rumbling mix of dubstep, grime und electro-pop. This is the [...]

sneaky with daniel

Sneaky & Daniel Bachmann (Manchester, Berlin)

Drums & double bass, rupturing rhythms, pulsating bodies and a stage full of landmines ‘Sneaky’ Simon Houghton and his upright bass – if Picasso would have been still alive, he surely would draw them, and he’d fuse them together in a wild explosion of colours. Music history is dripping out of Simon’s fingers while he’s [...]

Grace2

Graciela Maria & Sneaky(Mexico-City, Manchester, Berlin)

A pulsating carpet of sound to accompanying analogue dub and trip-hop. A densely-woven sound carpet of throbbing electronic beats, heart-warming cello strings played by Sneaky aka Simon Houghton, and a phat booming bass. In the fireplace, there’s a crackling digital fire going and Graciela’s voice resounds across space. Graciela Maria & Simon Houghton create their [...]

PAZZ Festival 2012 - Logo

Pazz Out – Bands

analogik_presse-gross

Analogik (Aarhus/Dänemark)

Dänische Seeräuber mit swingenden Bärten: Ameisen in die Beine – Würmer ins Ohr – Bässe in den Bauch Es geht einiges durcheinander. Wuchtige Pulsschläge und verspielte Synthesizer-Fanfaren hier, schwingende Jazzgitarren und vertrackte Balkanrhythmen dort. Analogik ist ein Haufen durchgedrehter Typen aus Dänemark, ihre Musik wirkt ganzheitlich: Würmer ins Ohr, Bässe in den Bauch, Ameisen in [...]

pussywarmers

The Pussywarmers (Lugano/Tessin)

Liebe, Tod und Teufel: Im schummrigem Varieté tanzt Dorian Gray zum Begräbnismarsch von Tom Waits Fünf Burschen aus dem Tessin loten mit Schlagwerk, Kontrabass, Megafon, Gitarre, Banjo, Akkordeon, Glockenspiel und Blechbläsern die Abgründe aus, die sich auftun zwischen schummrigem Varieté und akustischem Punk, kauzigem Klezmer und torkelnden Begräbnismärschen. Und umkreisen in ihrem epischen Ergötzen die [...]

Meandthe devil

Me And The Devil (Oldenburg)

Wenn der Teufel rennt gibt es zwischen jazzigen Indiegitarren eine Menge Monster zu entdecken Brandneu und heiß ist das, Oldenburgs erste Supergroup sozusagen. Lars Kaempf, Arne Meyer, Dirk Brumund-Rüther und Hauke Krone verdienten sich die Sporen anderswo – jetzt rollen sie mit jazzig versiertem Indierock als Me and the Devil das Feld von hinten auf. [...]

HAKK1

HAKK (Steinsoultz, Paris)

Die eklektizistische Minimal Pop-Schmiede aus der Elsässischen Provinz HAKK brauchen nicht viel, um ihre fein verwobenen minimalistischen Lieder zu zaubern. Ein paar behände Zupfer der Akustischen, eine Prise elegant zurückhaltendes Elektronikgeraschel, hier ein glückliches Klavier, ein gemütlicher Bass, dort ein Aaahhh, ein Ooohhh. Dazu singt der im Elsass lebende Eckhard Harms-Leroux sinnige Texte auf Englisch, [...]

les-fils-de-teuhpu

Les Fils de Teuhpu (Paris)

Wenn der Sound des Spatens mit der Riesenmuschel auf dem Balkan zur Fanfare flirtet Ein Phänomen sind sie schon, die Söhne von Teuphu. In den vergangenen 15 Jahren haben sie in Frankreich mehr als eintausend Konzerte gespielt – und stehen bei uns doch viel zu selten auf der Bühne. Ihren charmanten Flirt von Ska, Jazz, [...]

CHAT_ELECTRIQUE_2

LE CHAT ÉLECTRIQUE (HAMBURG, OLDENBURG, MANNHEIM)

  Live-Vertonung von Kurzfilmen – Kopfhörerkonzert – Die Instrumentalisten von Le Chat Électrique (Hamburg/ Oldenburg) zeigen auf dem PAZZ OUT ihre aktuellste Arbeit und geben historischen und modernen Kurzfilmklassikern ein neues Klanggewand. Mit Field-Recordings, analogen Synthesizern und Sampling werden die Kurzfilme über Funk-Kopfhörer live vertont. Die Kurzfilm Klassiker werden ins Jetzt katapultiert und die zeitlosen [...]

De-fofftig-Penns_01_Foto-Lars-Kaempf

De fofftig Penns (Hamburg, Berlin)

Dree-Mann-Shantychor – elegante Reime auf bremen nooordisch zu überkandidelt fiependem elekrto HipHop Wer fand Omas Zungenschlag schon cool? Diese drei auf jeden Fall: Riemelmeester Malde, Kommodige Jaykopp, Plietsche Torbän (wenn Musiker so tolle Namen haben, dann sollte man sie auch drucken) drehen seit ein paar Jahren fremdes Liedgut durch den Fleischwolf und machen es – [...]

NikiNeun2

NikiNeun (Oldenburg)

Granaten-Rock: Niki Neun scharen sich um die himmlisch verzerrte Gitarre Wenn Indierock so rumpelig und schräg klingt – dann klingt er gut. Seit vier Jahren gibt es die Oldenburger Band NikiNeun, anfangs auf Englisch, heute auf Deutsch. Immer schon scharen sie sich um die himmlisch verzerrte Gitarre, neuerdings erklingt hier und da auch mal eine [...]

Amigo1

Amigo del Sol (Oldenburg)

Vom endlosen Sommer, der swingt, rockt, bollert und bebt Diese Oldenburger Jungs leben auf der Bühne. Der Kerl, der ganz vorne zappelt heißt Falko Burkert – und war noch nicht geboren, als solche Lieder aus Mono-Radios dröhnten. Sein Kontrabass fährt tief in die Magengrube, eine Schrammelgitarre weckt den Traum vom endlosen Sommer auf dem Surfbrett. [...]

Abi_wallenstein

Abi Wallenstein & Blues Culture (Hamburg)

Batschkapp Blues – Erde, Schlamm und das Wasser der Elbe Man reibe sich Augen und Ohren: Eine messerscharf melodische Mundharmonika, unverschämt kühl gestreichelte Gitarrensaiten, eine Stimme, die von Nikotin und Southern Comfort geschult zu sein scheint (obwohl Abi Nichtraucher und Teetrinker ist!) – welche Lässigkeit! New Orleans? Nö, Hamburg. Abi Wallenstein, Steve Baker und Groove [...]

Hierundjetzt5mittelgroß

Hier & Jetzt (Hamburg)

Funkenschläger blitzen mit Blech, Ohrwürmer zahlen die Zech! Kazonk! Plong! Padauz! Dominik Bornhorn zerrt wie ein Derwisch an der daumendicken Saite seiner Bassgitarre, Ina Bredehorn nicht minder an ihren Stimmbändern. Bläser blitzen durch den Raum und legen sich ins gemachte Bett aus wärmender Orgeldaune und Basstrommel. Hier und Jetzt schlägt der Pop Funken – oder [...]

simon_und_jan_m_grande1

Simon & Jan (Oldenburg)

Von Zwei Barhocker und mit zwei Gitarren wird unsere bunt schillernde Warenwelt auseinander genommen Jan Traphan und Simon Eickhoff aus Oldenburg schmettern ihre Lieder von jeder Bühne, Hauptsache es stehen zwei Barhocker und Mikrophone drauf. Zu den Klängen ihrer Akustikgitarren nehmen sie verschmitzt grinsend unsere idiotisch bunt schillernde Warenwelt auseinander. Da knabbert die bekiffte Zimmerfliege [...]

VolxTanz_Photo

Volxtanz (Stuttgart)

Vodka, dann Sport: Zwei Hände voll Musiker mit Schlag- und Blasinstrumenten Neulich bei der Stuttgart21-Demo war die Bühne bald zu klein: Zwei Hände voll Musiker mit Schlag- und Blasinstrumenten drängelten sich zwischen vodkagetränkten Balkanbeats, Hochgeschwindigkeits-Polka und klezmereskem Ska. Stehen Volxtanz auf der Bühne, dann ist kein Halten. Die Musiker quetschen das Letzte aus Blech und [...]

Alyuvar2

Alyuvar (Mannheim)

Rot wie Blut – auf der Suche nach dem Land aus Milch, Honig und Freiheit Vom Schmelztiegel Mannheim aus ziehen sechs junge Musiker durch die Welt und bringen die Verhältnisse zum Tanzen. Auf ihrer Suche nach dem Land aus Milch, Honig und Freiheit nehmen sie mit, was gut klingt und in die Beine fährt: türkische [...]

Fnessnej1

Fnessnej (Darmstadt)

Instrumentalpostkutscherocknrollelektrogefrikkel: acht Beine, vier Köpfe, alte Computer, 30 Instrumente und 250 Meter Kabel Fnessnej (das sagen sie selbst), sind die rhythmisch-melodische Synthese aus acht Beinen, vier Köpfen, etwa zehn Percussion-Instrumenten, fünf Saiteninstrumenten, alten Computern, 357 Tasten auf 12 Keyboards und ungefähr 250 Metern Kabel. Und sehr laut. Fnessnej (sagen wir) sind in Wirklichkeit pubertierende Roboter [...]

lestrucs1

Les Trucs (Frankfurt a.M.)

Oper aus Krach: unvorstellbar überdrehter Elektropunk Irrsinn! Tobias und Charlotte stehen umringt vom hautnahen Publikum an einem Tapeziertisch, dreschen auf unschuldig blinkende Maschinen mit unzähligen Schaltern, Tasten und Knöpfen ein und entwinden ihnen unvorstellbar überdrehten Elektropunk. Das klingt wie Kraftwerk mit ungewaschenen Haaren. Oder Motörhead auf dem Synthesizer. Vivaldi auf harten Drogen. Les Trucs grinsen [...]

robotkoch

DJ Robot Koch (Berlin)

Roboter schlafen nicht, sie lassen Teller und Festplatten kreisen Der Berliner Produzent und DJ Robot Koch bringt in Oldenburg die Teller und Festplatten zum kreisen. Subsonische Bässe fegen über die Tanzfläche und lassen die Hosenbeine zittern, Destiny’s Child und Lou Ragland ertrinken in einer herbstlich grummelnden Melange von Dubstep, Grime und Elektropop. So klingt Roboter-Folk [...]

sneaky with daniel

Sneaky & Daniel Bachmann (Manchester, Berlin)

Schlagzeug & Kontrabass, brechende Rhythmen, vibrierende Körper und eine Bühne voller Tretminen Simon Houghton und sein Upright Bass…würde Picasso noch leben, er hätte die Verschmelzung der Beiden gemalt. Aus seinen Fingern sprießt die Rhythmusgeschichte und wird in der Gegenwart neu verdichtet: Jazz- und Funk-Wurzeln werden mit Latin, Folk, Reggae, Electro, Dubstep und weiteren Elementen jetziger [...]

Grace2

Graciela Maria & Sneaky (Mexico-City, Manchester, Berlin)

Pluckern auf dem Teppich zu Analog-Dub und TripHop Ein aus tiefen-elektronischem Pluckern gewebter Teppich, wärmendes Cellokratzen, erfüllendes Basswummern. Im Kamin brennt ein leis‘ raschelndes Feuer – und wie von Ferne hallt Gracielas Stimme herüber. Graciela Maria & Simon Houghton bauen diesen fesselnden Analog-Dub mit Hilfe von Robot Koch – und verwandeln schon mal People are [...]

PAZZ Festival 2012 - Logo