Getting Acrozz

LANGUAGE TRANSFER IN THEATRE PRODUCTIONS

For the first time in festival history, PAZZ 2012 will be exploring a theme that will play an increasingly bigger role in the world of theatre in view of advancing globalisation: language transfer of foreign-language theatre productions for local audiences. The more theatre productions go on tour these days, the more international coproductions and performances are shown in various languages at international theatre festivals, the more important it is to transfer these productions ›on site‹. As theatre does not function solely through spoken text, however, all its participants – translators, authors, theatre groups and festival organisers – must face the challenging question: How can language transfer take place and do justice to individual artistic demands?

PAZZ has posed this question in a project involving young translators that aims to make all its productions accessible for the Oldenburg audience as well as for international festival visitors. In cooperation with the artists, they have looked for the best possible means of transfer in each case. Amongst others, the options to assist the audience’s understanding are: surtitles, live interpretation or written aids. What began as a temporary measure, and used to be regarded as an unavoidable transmission of the text is becoming an art and profession in its own right for complex productions. Especially in the area of performance art, it is time to find and think through new methods of transfer: In an international symposium of professionals form different areas, various means of transfer will be discussed and questions of translation will be talked about. A particular emphasis will be on the theme of ›accessibility‹, which refers to theatre for the deaf and blind.

We will offer a platform to theatre-makers from all over the world to come together and exchange ideas, discuss and forge international networks. In the exchange between artists, festival leaders, dramaturges, translators and the audience, we would like to sound out and develop the possibilities of transfer.

SYMPOSIUM FOR TRANSLATORS, THEATRE-MAKERS AND FESTIVAL ORGANISERS 25.- 28. APRIL 2012

There are surtitles, there is simultaneous interpreting: many ways exist to create transfer in theatre. In the field of international theatre, at guest performances or festivals, the theme of language transfer is becoming increasingly more central. What began as a provisional measure and an unavoidable transfer of the text has become an art form and profession in its own right leading to ever more complex performances.

For the first time, GETTING ACROZZ brings together leading practitioners in translation and theatre to discuss the theme of transfer in theatre production. Firstly, different forms of transfer will be presented at the symposium. In addition, a working process between directors and upcoming translators that begun at the start of this year will be presented. This is an attempt to follow new routes in transfer. The invention of new theatre aesthetics is a concrete goal of this working process.

GETTING ACROZZ is aimed at translators, theatre-makers, festival organizers, dramaturgs, editors, interpreters and everyone else who is interested in an international exchange of experience. A further goal is to forge a network of international specialists.

The focus will be on: •    Simultaneous interpreting from a new perspective: criteria and qualities •    Surtitling: language transfer between technology and aesthetics •    Copyright: Who does the translation belong to? •    Accessibility: Transfer for the deaf and blind

Applications from participants are requested by 31.03.2012 to be sent to the following email address: matthias.klompmaker@pazzfestival.de. Please give a short description of your work in the field of theatre transfer as well as your languages, surtitling experience, interpretation etc.

Applicants will be asked to pay a fee of 40 EUR, including costs for refreshments and lunch. Students and members of the Dramaturgische Gesellschaft will be exempt if they can provide documents. Travel and accommodation costs have to be covered by the participants. We support funding applications to eligible institutions.

GETTING ACROZZ is an event organised by the PAZZ Festival and the Oldenburgisches Staatstheater together with Internationales Theaterinstitut Zentrum Deutschland (ITI) and Dramaturgische Gesellschaft, whose annual meeting will take place from 26.-29.04.2012 in Oldenburg.

Programme as PDF in English

Comments are closed.

PAZZ Festival 2012 - Logo

Getting Acrozz

DER SPRACHLICHE TRANSFER VON THEATERPRODUKTIONEN

Als erstes Festival überhaupt widmet sich PAZZ 2012 einem Thema, das angesichts der fortschreitenden Globalisierung (auch) in der Theaterwelt eine immer wichtigere Rolle spielt: die sprachliche Übertragung fremdsprachiger Theaterproduktionen für ein lokales Publikum. Je mehr Theaterproduktionen heute international touren, je mehr internationale Koproduktionen gezeigt werden, je mehr internationale Theaterfestivals Inszenierungen in unterschiedlichsten Sprachen präsentieren, desto wichtiger wird es, diese Produktionen angemessen ›vor Ort‹ zu vermitteln. Da Theater jedoch nicht nur über den gesprochenen Text funktioniert, stellt sich für Übersetzer, Autoren, Theatergruppen und Festivalmacher gleichermaßen die herausfordernde Frage: Wie kann die Vermittlung gestaltet werden, um den besonderen künstlerischen Anforderungen gerecht zu werden?

PAZZ stellt sich dieser Frage in einem Projekt mit jungen Übersetzern, das alle Produktionen sowohl für das Oldenburger Publikum als auch die internationalen Festivalbesucher zugänglich machen will. Dazu haben sie gemeinsam mit den Künstlern nach dem bestmöglichen Weg der Übertragung gesucht. Es kann übertitelt, live während der Vorstellung eingesprochen oder es können auch schriftliche Hilfestellungen für das Publikum genutzt werden. Was als Provisorium und unvermeidbare Textübermittlung begann, wird zur eigenen Kunst und Profession des Transfers komplexer Inszenierungen. Gerade hier im Bereich der Performance Art ist es an der Zeit, neue Wege der Übertragung zu finden und zu durchdenken: In einem international besetzten Symposium mit Fachleuten aus verschiedenen Bereichen werden die unterschiedlichen Übertragungsarten diskutiert und übersetzerische Fragestellungen besprochen. Ein besonderes Augenmerk liegt dabei auf dem Thema ›Accessibility‹, womit die Vermittlung von Theater für Gehörlose und Blinde gemeint ist.

Wir bieten eine Plattform für Theatermacher aus aller Welt, sich auszutauschen, gemeinsam zu diskutieren und sich international zu vernetzen. Im Austausch mit Künstlern, Festivalleitern, Dramaturgen, Übersetzern und dem Publikum wollen wir bei PAZZ 2012 die Möglichkeiten des Transfers ausloten und weiterentwickeln.

SYMPOSIUM FÜR ÜBERSETZER_INNEN, THEATERMACHER_INNEN UND FESTIVALMACHER_INNEN 25.- 28. APRIL 2012

Es wird übertitelt, eingesprochen, es werden alternative Wege der Übertragung eingeschlagen. Im Bereich des internationalen Theaters, bei Gastspielen oder Festivals rückt das Thema des Sprachtransfers immer mehr in den Mittelpunkt. Was als Provisorium und unvermeidbare Textübermittlung begann, wird zur eigenen Kunst und Profession des Transfers komplexer Inszenierungen.

GETTING ACROZZ bringt erstmals die führenden Praktiker_innen aus Übersetzung und Theater, Wissenschaftler_innen und Künstler_innen zum Thema Transfer von Theaterproduktionen zusammen. Auf dem Symposium werden die verschiedenen Arten des Sprachtransfers zunächst vorgestellt. Darüber hinaus sollen in einem seit Anfang des Jahres laufenden Arbeitsprozess gemeinsam mit Regisseur_innen und Nachwuchsübersetzer_innen erarbeitete Sprachübertragungen auf dem Festival gezeigt werden. Dabei werden neue Wege des Transfers gegangen. Das (Er)finden neuer Theaterästhetiken ist dabei durchaus ein Ziel.

GETTING ACROZZ richtet sich an Übersetzer_innen, Theatermacher_innen und Festivalmacher_innen, Dramaturg_innen, Lektor_innen, Dolmetscher_innen und alle Interessierten und soll den internationalen Erfahrungsaustausch fördern. Ziel ist die internationale Vernetzung von Fachleuten.

THEMATISCHE SCHWERPUNKTE •    Simultandolmetschen neu denken: Kriterien und Qualität •    Übertitelung: Sprachtransfer zwischen Technik und Ästhetik •    Urheberrecht: Wem gehört die Übertragung? •    Teilhabe: Übertragungswege für Gehörlose und Blinde

Um Anmeldung für das Symposium wird bis zum 31.03.2012 unter matthias.klompmaker@pazzfestival.de gebeten. Bitte geben Sie kurz Ihren Bezug zur Theaterübertragung, ggf. Sprachen, Erfahrungen im Bereich Übertitelung, Dolmetschen etc. an.

Die Anmeldungsgebühr beträgt 40 EUR, hierin sind Kosten für Getränke und Mittagessen enthalten. Für Studierende und Mitglieder der Dramaturgischen Gesellschaft entfällt bei Vorlage der entsprechenden Bescheinigung die Anmeldegebühr. Reise- und Übernachtungskosten sowie Verpflegung sind von den Teilnehmer_innen zu tragen. Wir unterstützen gerne Anträge bei in Frage kommenden Förderinstitutionen.

Für Rückfragen stehen wir gerne per Email unter matthias.klompmaker@pazzfestival.de zur Verfügung.

GETTING ACROZZ ist eine Veranstaltung des PAZZ Performing Arts Festivals 2012. GETTING ACROZZ entsteht in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Internationalen Theaterinstitut Zentrum Deutschland (ITI) und der Dramaturgischen Gesellschaft, deren Jahrestagung vom 26. bis 29. April 2012 bei PAZZ stattfinden wird.

Programm als PDF auf Deutsch

Comments are closed.

PAZZ Festival 2012 - Logo