UTOPIAN IN RESIDENCE – PAZZ – REALITY RESEARCH CENTER BLOG

LAST REMARKS FROM THE FIELD Reading the City, Writing the City The city suggests itself as a book, to be read. Its things are presented as correct meanings – street is a street: a thing for advancing, to be used to get into other places. Shop is a shop: it questions whether I need anything, [...]

UTOPIAN IN RESIDENCE – PAZZ – REALITY RESEARCH CENTER BLOG

WALKING / BIKING THE CITY The city of Oldenburg – as well as many other cities – is made out of two things: walking together and sitting around a fire. Long ago when there was no spoken language nor words we met each other in places that would today be called Coffee Houses, Bierstuben or [...]

UTOPIAN IN RESIDENCE – PAZZ – REALITY RESEARCH CENTER BLOG

CONVENTIONAL CITY The city of Oldenburg – like all the cities I have heard about – is a utopia covered with a layer of conventional behavior. This hides the utopic potential of the city, making it invisible. However, this was not the case in the early days when time was young. In that past there [...]

UTOPIAN IN RESIDENCE – PAZZ – REALITY RESEARCH CENTER BLOG

Hello, I’m Risto Santavuori from Reality Research Center — one of the resident Utopians of Pazz. UTOPIC CITY The city of Oldenburg – like all the cities – is a utopia. On the surface it might look a well-organized society, but under this cover there lies a vast invisible utopic potential. This utopic essence originates [...]

UTOPIAN IN RESIDENCE – PAZZ – REALITY RESEARCH CENTER BLOG

Utopia-0

UTOPIAN EXPLORATION REPORT NUMBER 1: Hello, I’m Pekko Koskinen from Reality Research Center — one of the resident Utopians of Pazz. You might be wondering what is a resident Utopian. Here’s our answer: Utopians treat everyday, casual situations as sources of creation. They ask: what can we create within our conversation, meeting in a cafe, [...]

PAZZ Festival 2012 - Logo

UTOPIAN IN RESIDENCE – PAZZ – REALITY RESEARCH CENTER BLOG

LETZTE BETRACHTUNGEN VOM STADTRAND Die Stadt lesen, die Stadt schreiben Die Stadt legt nahe, dass sie ein Buch zum Lesen ist. Die Gegenstände der Stadt zeigen sich mit klaren Bedeutungen – eine Straße ist eine Straße: Etwas, um vorwärts zu kommen, das gebraucht wird, um an andere Orte zu gelangen. Ein Laden ist ein Laden: [...]

UTOPIAN IN RESIDENCE – PAZZ – REALITY RESEARCH CENTER BLOG

DIE STADT ERLAUFEN / ERFAHREN Oldenburg ist – wie viele andere Städte auch – aus zwei Dingen gemacht: gemeinsam gehen und am Feuer sitzen. Vor langer Zeit, als es weder Sprache noch Wörter gab, trafen wir uns an Orten, die man heute Kaffeehäuser, Bierkneipen oder Weinstuben nennen würde. Damals teilten wir unsere Geschichten mit, indem [...]

UTOPIAN IN RESIDENCE – PAZZ – REALITY RESEARCH CENTER BLOG

KONVENTIONELLE STADT Oldenburg ist – wie alle Städte, von denen ich bislang gehört habe – eine Utopie, die unter einer Schicht konventionellen Verhaltens liegt. Diese Schicht überlagert ihr utopisches Potential und macht es unsichtbar. Früher war das anders, als die Zeit noch jung war. Damals glich kein Tag dem anderen: Morgens wusstest du nicht, wer [...]

UTOPIAN IN RESIDENCE – PAZZ – REALITY RESEARCH CENTER BLOG

  Hallo, ich bin Risto Santavuori vom Reality Research Center – einer der beiden Utopisten in residence beim PAZZ-Festival. UTOPISCHE STADT Oldenburg ist – wie alle Städte – eine Utopie. Auf den ersten Blick wirkt sie möglicherweise wie eine gut organisierte Gesellschaft, aber unter dieser Oberfläche liegt ein enormes unsichtbares utopisches Potential. Dieses utopische Wesen entsteht [...]

UTOPIAN IN RESIDENCE – PAZZ – REALITY RESEARCH CENTER BLOG

Utopia-0

UTOPIE-FORSCHUNG, 1. BERICHT Hallo, ich bin Pekko Koskinen vom Reality Research Center – einer der beiden Utopisten in residence beim PAZZ-Festival. Sie wundern sich vielleicht, was ein Utopist in residence ist. Hier die Antwort: Utopisten benutzen alltägliche, gewöhnliche Situationen als Ausgangspunkt ihres Werks. Sie fragen: Was können wir aus unseren Gesprächen, Treffen in Cafés, einem [...]

PAZZ Festival 2012 - Logo